## Papakura High School Te Mita o Te Reo Māori – Māori Language Bilingual Unit

The school offers a programme of study for students who wish to enrol in **Te Mita o Te Reo Māori**. The maximum number of students that can be accommodated in this Programme at any one time is 150. The number of spaces each year is determined by the Board of Trustees. This number can vary from year to year depending on the learning needs of the children. A full description of the special programme is available at the school.

The programme has a maximum roll of 150 students.

## **Eligibility**

## Te Mita o Te Reo Māori

Te Mita o Te Reo Māori is a Kaupapa Māori Rūmaki Reo programme. It is committed to the Treaty of Waitangi, and underpinned by Te Aho Matua, Te Reo, Tikanga Māori, Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, the NZC and Tikanga Māori. Article two of the treaty (amongst other things) guarantees to Maori the right to retain their taonga so long as it is their wish to do so. Te Reo status as a taonga was confirmed by the Waitangi Tribunal in 1985. And in 1987 the Maori Language Act was passed confirming te reo as a national language.

## Priority Entry into Te Mita o Te Reo Māori

Te Mita o Te Reo Māori programme is a reo programme that specifically focuses on bilingual competence. It also enables Maori to retain their reo so long as it is their wish to do so. All interested tauira will sit a screening assessment to gauge Te Reo Māori abilities. Should demand exceed places available a criteria system shall apply as below:

- 1. Screened tauira that have a level of mastery and have come from immersion backgrounds, will be given first priority of entry.
- 2. Screened tauira that have a level of mastery and are siblings of current ex-students will be given second priority
- 3. Screened tauira that have some mastery of Te Reo and are heavily supported by whanau will be given third priority
- 4. Screened tauira with little mastery of Te Reo, but can demonstrate an absolute commitment to accelerating their Te Reo Māori abilities with the endorsement of whanau will be given fourth priority of entry.