## Papakura High School (101) Enrolment Scheme

Effective from Term 1 2022

The guidelines for development and operation of enrolment schemes are issued under Schedule 20 section 4 of the Education and Training Act 2020 (formerly section11G (3) of the Education Act 1989) for the purpose of describing the basis on which the Secretary's powers in relation to enrolment schemes will be exercised.

#### Home Zone

# All students who live within the home zone <u>described below</u> and/or <u>shown on the attached</u> <u>map</u> shall be entitled to enrol at the school.

Starting at the intersection of Taka Street and the railway line, travel southeast down the railway line until Papakura Station. Then, travel west along Wood Street (SOUTH SIDE ONLY} and then south along Great South Road (even numbered addresses 260 {280} to 468 included), and then travel east until Otūwairoa Stream. Continue traveling east along Otūwairoa Stream and then the southern boundary of Opaheke Reserve until the railway line. Then, travel south along the railway line until State Highway 1, and then continue south along SH1 until the intersection of Dale South Road and Hillview Road. From that intersection, travel southeast to Matthew Whitford Drive, and then east to Totara Road (excluded), including Ararimu Road {North side addresses included} to the intersection with Steel Road (excluding Dunn Road). Including Dale, Maxted, Fausett, Turner, and Steel Roads and no exit roads off those roads. Then, travel northwest along Ararimu Road (excluded, but including roads north of the boundary except no exit roads) until Paparimu Road (including north of the intersection). From that intersection, the travel south until Wilson Road (included), Pararimu addresses on eastern side included. From the end of Wilson Road travel east to the Mangatawhiri River (Both sides) Follow the Mangatawhiri River north to the Upper Mangatawhiri Reservoir. Then follow Waterline Road north, continue north following Keeney Road until the intersection with St Pauls Road. Follow St Pauls to the intersection with Plows Road. Follow Plows Road south east until it turns into Mine Road. At the end of Mine Road, travel north to the Orere River (both sides included). Follow the Orere River north to where it meets the Kawakawa-Orere Road (Addresses below 660 and 521 included. (660 and 521 not included). From 660 Kawakawa-Orere Road travel northeast to the coast at the end of Bays Road in the Orere Point Township. Follow the coastline west until North Road at Umupuia Beach. From there, travel southwest along North Road, including both sides of the road, until Clevedon. From Clevedon, travel south along Papakura-Clevedon Road, including Twilight Road to 103 and below, 102 and below, West Road to 213 and below 210 and below. At intersection of Papakura-Clevedon Road and Clevedon-Takanini Road, head west along Clevedon-Takanini Road (including both sides of roads Parish Line Road) until Alfriston-Ardmore Road. Then, travel west along Airfield Road (both sides of road until Mill Road intersection, then only odd addresses) until Takanini School Road. Travel south on Takanini School Road, and then west on Taka Street (odd addresses only) until the railway line to return to the start of the boundary.

All residential addresses on boundary roads an no exit roads off boundary roads are included in the one unless otherwise stated.

Proof of residence within the home zone will be required.

Each year, applications for enrolment in the following year from in-zone students will be sought by a date which will be published in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. This will enable the board to assess the number of places which can be made available to students who live outside the home zone.

#### **Special Programmes**

The School operates the following Special Programmes:

#### Te Mita o Te Reo Māori – Māori Bilingual Unit (Maximum 150 students)

### **Out of Zone Enrolments**

Each year the board will determine the number of places which are likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone. The board will publish this information by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school. The notice will indicate how applications are to be made and will specify a date by which all applications must be received.

Applications for enrolment will be processed in the following order of priority:

First Priority	will be given to applicants enrolling in the Te Mita o Te Reo Māori programme
Second Priority	will be given to applicants who are siblings of current students.
Third Priority	will be given to applicants who are siblings of former students.
Fourth Priority	will be given to any applicant who is a child of a former student of the school.
Fifth Priority	will be given to any applicant who is either a child of an employee of the board of the school or a child of a member of the board of the school.
Sixth Priority	will be given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the second, third, fourth, or fifth priority groups than there are places available, selection within the priority group will be by a ballot conducted in accordance with instructions issued by the Secretary under Schedule 20 section 9 of the Education and Training Act

2020 (formerly section11G (3) of the Education Act 1989). Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulating in the area served by the school.

Applicants seeking second or third priority status may be required to give proof of a sibling relationship.